Skip to content
Carry & Spin

Review · Ernest Sports

Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus 2.0 review

It's cameras plus radar for about $1,000 with no plan. Owners call it a solid everyday unit; indoor setup is fussy and support is slow.

Photo of Nouman SabirBy Nouman Sabir, EditorUpdated 5 sources cited

Carry & Spin is reader-supported. If you buy through links on this page I may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never decides what I recommend, and no brand pays to be included. Affiliate disclosure

Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus 2.0 launch monitor
Image: Ernest Sports

Radar + camera · Sits beside the ball

Price
$1,000
Plan / yr
$0
3-yr cost
$1,000

Price seen Oct 27, 2026; prices change.

No subscriptionShort roomsWorks outdoors
Check price at Ernest Sports

I'd buy it if

Side-of-ball accuracy on a budget without a subscription.

I'd skip it if

You want GSPro support.

My take on the Ernest ES Tour Plus 2.0

Free native software, simple setup on a basic Windows PC or iPad, and a side-of-ball design that works in confined spaces (per owners of the original Tour Plus). Owners who upgraded to the 2.0 say it reads balls and spin axis better.

Indoors you need the ball logo facing the unit and a calibration routine, and owners report about 1 in 20 questionable readings and unrealistic putting. Repairs are slow and come with no status tracking.

It doesn't support GSPro, so you're on its own apps or E6. If that's fine, it's a reasonable no-plan option around $1,000.

Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus 2.0 in black
Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus 2.0 in black. Image: Ernest Sports.

What I'd check before buying

  • No GSPro
  • Indoor setup routine
  • Repair turnaround

How I put this review together: I haven't had this unit in my own bay. It's built from Ernest Sports's own pages, retailer listings, published reviews and owner reports, each linked below. My research method.

The real cost of the Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus 2.0

I saw it at $999.99 (list price $1,795.00). No subscription; native apps are free. E6 Connect sold separately.

Plan or add-onPer yearRequired?What it unlocks
None required (Ernest ES Golf / ES Range apps free)$0OptionalNative practice apps
E6 Connect (optional, sold separately)—OptionalCourse play; manufacturer lists $300 Basic / $600 Expanded (billing period not stated; blog calls it ~$300-600/yr)
Year one
$1,000
Three years
$1,000
Five years
$1,000

My math: price + the yearly plan a typical owner needs to play full courses (none). Excludes net, mat, screen and projector. Compare every plan.

The room it needs

The Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus 2.0 is a radar + camera unit (side of ball (hitting area), per owner blog on original Tour Plus; 2.0 placement not stated on product page). Units beside the ball read the launch with cameras, so they need little depth, but they must move to the other side for a left-handed golfer.

Unit behind the ballNot published
Ball to screen (minimum)Not published
Room depth (minimum)Not published
Room width (minimum)Not published
Ceiling (minimum)Not published
Indoor / outdoorIndoor + Outdoor
Special balls or stickersIndoors the ball logo must face the unit (straight logo); ES may supply marked balls

Outdoor: original Tour Plus works outdoors but direct sunlight blocks the cameras (radar-only data). Tour Plus 2.0 page only mentions indoor 'infrared light boards'. Side placement suits confined spaces (owner blog).

Check your room with our calculator →

What it measures (and what it estimates)

Makers rarely label which numbers are measured and which are calculated. Where the sources split them, I show it. A calculated value isn't useless, but it's more likely to drift indoors.

Measured

  • spin axis
  • hang time

Calculated / estimated

  • Not stated by the maker

20 data points. Page labels spin axis and hang time as measured; lists club path, face angle, angle of attack, dynamic loft without labels. Owner blog lists carry/total, club & ball speed, smash, spin rate & axis, launch angle & direction, AoA, club path, face-to-path.

Software and compatibility

Native apps: ES Golf app, ES Range. Runs on Windows PC, iPad.

Simulator softwareWorks?Notes
E6 ConnectYesTrial included; paid tiers $300/$600
GSProNoListed by Stymie only; not confirmed by Ernest
TGC 2019NoListed by Stymie only

What owners say

Recurring points from owner forums, verified-buyer reviews and retailer Q&A. Each links to where I read it. "Several sources" means at least two independent owners said it.

Praise

  • Free native software and simple setup on a basic Windows PC or iPadsingle source · wiscogolfaddict.com
  • Side placement works in confined spacessingle source · wiscogolfaddict.com
  • Reliable everyday unit; upgrade to 2.0 seen as good value vs ~$3k SkyTrak/Mevo+ packagesseveral forum owners · golfsimulatorforum.com
  • Upgraded unit reportedly reads balls and spin/spin axis bettersingle anecdotal report · golfsimulatorforum.com

Complaints

What published reviews found

These outlets published their own reviews. I summarize their headline verdict; read the full review for their testing details.

Where the sources disagree

I show the conflict and which figure I used, rather than quietly picking one.

price

Manufacturer $999.99 sale / $1,795 compare-at; Stymie $1,995 (ES Tour Plus); PGA Tour Superstore listing exists (not loaded)

I use: $999.99 current, $1,795 list (Manufacturer store on date checked)

E6 Connect billing

Ernest page lists $300/$600 without period; blog says per year

I use: unverified (Period not stated by manufacturer)

Alternatives to consider

Questions people ask

How much does the Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus 2.0 really cost?

$1,000 at the street price I saw on 2026-10-27. No subscription; native apps are free. E6 Connect sold separately. By my math that's about $1,000 over three years and $1,000 over five.

Does the Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus 2.0 need a subscription?

No plan is required for the core features. No subscription; native apps are free. E6 Connect sold separately.

Can you use the Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus 2.0 outdoors?

Yes, the maker and retailers list it for outdoor use as well as indoors.

How much space does the Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus 2.0 need?

It sits beside the ball, so it needs no space behind you. Plan for about 15 ft of total depth with a 10 ft ball-to-screen gap, and room for the unit on the hitting side.

What I couldn't verify (4)
  • space requirements: none published
  • placement for 2.0 specifically
  • GSPro/TGC compatibility (only third-party list)
  • no independent expert review of 2.0 found

Sources

Every number on this page comes from one of these 5 pages. We checked them on Oct 27, 2026. Prices change often, so confirm before you buy.

  1. 1.Manufacturer · ernestsports.com
  2. 2.Manufacturer · ernestsports.com
  3. 3.Forum · golfsimulatorforum.com
  4. 4.Expert-review · wiscogolfaddict.com
  5. 5.News · stymie.golf
Nouman Sabir

About the author

Nouman SabirFounder & Editor

Nouman Sabir founded Carry & Spin and edits every page. Nouman reads the makers' manuals and plan pages, retailer listings and owner forums, works out what each setup really costs, and keeps every claim linked to its source. Nouman is a researcher, not a golf pro, and says so.

Expert review panel: PGA professionals and launch monitor testers who advise on the technical side of these guides.