Skip to content
Carry & Spin

Review · Voice Caddie

Swing Caddie SC4 PRO review

This is a no-subscription range companion with a screen and voice readout. I'd buy it for practice, not to build a full simulator around.

Carry & Spin is reader-supported. If you buy through links on this page I may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never decides what I recommend, and no brand pays to be included. Affiliate disclosure

Swing Caddie SC4 PRO launch monitor with app screens
Image: Voice Caddie

Radar · Sits behind the ball

Price
$600
Plan / yr
$0
3-yr cost
$600

Price seen Oct 27, 2026; prices change.

Under $1,000No subscriptionWorks outdoorsPortable
Check price at Voice Caddie

I'd buy it if

Range practice without a phone or a plan.

I'd skip it if

You want a full simulator with GSPro.

My take on the Swing Caddie SC4 PRO

Owners like how easy it is: set it down, and it shows and speaks your numbers without a phone. There's no plan, and E6 Connect with five courses is included.

Indoors, a reviewer found roughly 1 in 15 shots clearly off, and indoor spin is inconsistent. It doesn't support GSPro, and carry numbers can read high. Watch out for installing the wrong (older) app during setup.

If you mostly practice at the range and want quick numbers, it's good value. If you want a home simulator, the Garmin R10 does more for less.

What I'd check before buying

  • No GSPro
  • Indoor spin consistency
  • Installing the correct app

How I put this review together: I haven't had this unit in my own bay. It's built from Voice Caddie's own pages, retailer listings, published reviews and owner reports, each linked below. My research method.

The real cost of the Swing Caddie SC4 PRO

I saw it at $599.99. No subscription. E6 Connect with 5 courses included; more courses cost extra.

Plan or add-onPer yearRequired?What it unlocks
None required$0OptionalVoice Caddie S app free; E6 Connect with 5 courses + driving range included
E6 Connect / OptiShot Orion course suite—OptionalAdditional courses (optional subscription; price not stated)
Year one
$600
Three years
$600
Five years
$600

My math: price + the yearly plan a typical owner needs to play full courses (none). Excludes net, mat, screen and projector. Compare every plan.

The room it needs

The Swing Caddie SC4 PRO is a radar unit (behind ball). Radar units read the ball's flight, so they need space behind you for the unit and enough distance in front for the ball to fly before the screen.

Unit behind the ball5 ft
Ball to screen (minimum)10 ft
Room depth (minimum)15 ft
Room width (minimum)Not published
Ceiling (minimum)Not published
Indoor / outdoorIndoor + Outdoor
Special balls or stickersnone

Voice Caddie: ~5 ft behind the ball, level with the hitting surface; recommends 10 ft ball to net/screen. PlayBetter says at least 8 ft in front. Room depth = 5 + 10 (derived, not stated by maker).

Check your room with our calculator →

What it measures (and what it estimates)

Makers rarely label which numbers are measured and which are calculated. Where the sources split them, I show it. A calculated value isn't useless, but it's more likely to drift indoors.

Measured

  • swing speed
  • ball speed
  • launch angle
  • launch direction

Calculated / estimated

  • carry
  • total distance
  • apex
  • smash factor
  • spin rate
  • back spin
  • side spin
  • spin axis
  • dispersion

Voice Caddie does not publish a measured vs calculated split; Plugged In Golf's reviewer says the manual doesn't specify. PlayBetter says much of the data is calculated by algorithm ('ProMetricS'). Split above is inferred from radar-only design and is not official. No club path or AoA. Min ball speed 22 mph / carry 15 yd.

Software and compatibility

Native apps: Voice Caddie S app (3D driving range), VC Manager (Windows/macOS), built-in 5.3-in display (standalone). Runs on iOS, Android, Windows, macOS.

Simulator softwareWorks?Notes
E6 ConnectYes5 courses included; iOS and PC; integration not working at PlayBetter's Dec 2024 test
OptiShot OrionYesoptional subscription
GSProNonot listed by manufacturer
Awesome GolfNonot listed by manufacturer

What owners say

Recurring points from owner forums, verified-buyer reviews and retailer Q&A. Each links to where I read it. "Several sources" means at least two independent owners said it.

Praise

Complaints

What published reviews found

These outlets published their own reviews. I summarize their headline verdict; read the full review for their testing details.

  • Plugged In Golf

    'A great choice' - numbers in line with GCQuad on most shots except spin; no putting or short chips.

  • PlayBetter

    Strong value at $599.99, especially outdoors; MLM2PRO more accurate, R10 gives more data.

  • Golfers Authority

    All-in-one under $600; claims within 2.1 yd carry vs TrackMan over 50 7-irons (via search snippet).

Where the sources disagree

I show the conflict and which figure I used, rather than quietly picking one.

ball_to_screen

Voice Caddie FAQ: 10 ft; PlayBetter: at least 8 ft.

I use: 10 ft (Manufacturer FAQ.)

accuracy spec

Within 3% ball speed (one source) vs 2% (another); battery 8-9 h vs 10 h.

I use: unverified (Manufacturer spec not retrieved.)

Alternatives to consider

Questions people ask

How much does the Swing Caddie SC4 PRO really cost?

$600 at the street price I saw on 2026-10-27. No subscription. E6 Connect with 5 courses included; more courses cost extra. By my math that's about $600 over three years and $600 over five.

Does the Swing Caddie SC4 PRO need a subscription?

No plan is required for the core features. No subscription. E6 Connect with 5 courses included; more courses cost extra.

Can you use the Swing Caddie SC4 PRO outdoors?

Yes, the maker and retailers list it for outdoor use as well as indoors.

How much space does the Swing Caddie SC4 PRO need?

It sits about 5 ft behind the ball, and the ball should be at least 10 ft from the screen, so plan for 15 ft of depth.

What I couldn't verify (4)
  • measured vs calculated split (not published by Voice Caddie)
  • accuracy tolerance and battery spec
  • independent forum/Amazon owner threads (search did not surface any; Reddit not accessible)
  • E6 extra course subscription price

Sources

Every number on this page comes from one of these 5 pages. We checked them on Oct 27, 2026. Prices change often, so confirm before you buy.

  1. 1.Manufacturer · voicecaddie.com
  2. 2.Manufacturer · voicecaddie.com
  3. 3.Expert-review · pluggedingolf.com
  4. 4.Expert-review · playbetter.com
  5. 5.Retailer · bestbuy.com
Nouman Sabir

About the author

Nouman SabirFounder & Editor

Nouman Sabir founded Carry & Spin and edits every page. Nouman reads the makers' manuals and plan pages, retailer listings and owner forums, works out what each setup really costs, and keeps every claim linked to its source. Nouman is a researcher, not a golf pro, and says so.

Expert review panel: PGA professionals and launch monitor testers who advise on the technical side of these guides.