Skip to content
Carry & Spin

Review · Trackman

Trackman 4 review

This is the tour radar, and it's overkill for most homes. I'd only recommend it to coaches or players who need one unit for both the range and a deep studio.

Photo of Nouman SabirBy Nouman Sabir, EditorUpdated 8 sources cited

Carry & Spin is reader-supported. If you buy through links on this page I may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never decides what I recommend, and no brand pays to be included. Affiliate disclosure

Trackman 4 launch monitor
Image: Trackman

Radar · Sits behind the ball

Price
$25,995
Plan / yr
$1,100
3-yr cost
$28,195

Price seen Oct 27, 2026; prices change.

PremiumWorks outdoorsClub dataLefty + righty
Check price at Trackman

I'd buy it if

Coaches and players who need one unit for range and studio.

I'd skip it if

It will live indoors full-time (the iO is built for that).

My take on the Trackman 4

Owners who tested it next to a GCQuad called the difference negligible, and the software is mature and deep. Nothing else on this list does the range and the studio equally well.

Indoors it needs a lot of room: 16–18 ft from unit to screen depending on which Trackman page you read. Very short chips and putts are hard for radar, and owners sometimes use stickers to help indoor spin.

Trackman doesn't publish a price; the retailer listing we saw was $25,995, plus about $1,100 a year for software after year one. If it will live indoors full-time, the iO is the better Trackman.

Golfer and coach on a driving range with a Trackman 4 behind the ball
Golfer and coach on a driving range with a Trackman 4 behind the ball. Image: Trackman.

What I'd check before buying

  • 16–18 ft unit to screen
  • About $1,100/yr software
  • Charges to move software when trading up

How I put this review together: I haven't had this unit in my own bay. It's built from Trackman's own pages, retailer listings, published reviews and owner reports, each linked below. My research method.

The real cost of the Trackman 4

I saw it at $25,995.00. Software subscription required (~$1,100/yr) after year one. Trackman publishes no hardware price; $25,995 is a retailer listing.

Plan or add-onPer yearRequired?What it unlocks
Trackman software subscription (Trackman Golf Simulator software + Trackman Range)$1,100.00RequiredSimulator software (range, courses, games, online competitions). First year included in box (Carl's Place). Golf Insider (2024) cited $1,000/yr.
Year one
$25,995
Three years
$28,195
Five years
$30,395

My math: price + the yearly plan a typical owner needs to play full courses ($1,100.00/yr, first year included). Excludes net, mat, screen and projector. Compare every plan.

The room it needs

The Trackman 4 is a radar unit (behind ball (6-9.5 ft behind the hitting area)). Radar units read the ball's flight, so they need space behind you for the unit and enough distance in front for the ball to fly before the screen.

Unit behind the ball6 ft
Ball to screen (minimum)10 ft
Room depth (minimum)17 ft
Room width (minimum)Not published
Ceiling (minimum)9 ft
Indoor / outdoorIndoor + Outdoor
Special balls or stickersnone required; metallic stickers optional to help spin measurement indoors (forum)

Trackman support: unit-to-ball 7 ft optimal / 6 ft min / 9 ft 6 in max; ball-to-screen 12 ft optimal / 10 ft min; 1 ft behind screen. 17 ft = 6 + 10 + 1 (derived minimum). Trackman room blog recommends screen-to-unit 18 ft+, ceiling 10 ft+, width 15 ft+. Carl's Place: ceiling 9 ft min, 11 ft optimal. Shop Indoor Golf recommends 20 ft depth; its 2026 review says 16-20 ft total.

Check your room with our calculator →

What it measures (and what it estimates)

Makers rarely label which numbers are measured and which are calculated. Where the sources split them, I show it. A calculated value isn't useless, but it's more likely to drift indoors.

Measured

  • Not stated by the maker

Calculated / estimated

  • Not stated by the maker

Trackman lists 17 club, 13 ball and 25 putting parameters ('40+'). Ball: ball speed, smash factor, launch angle, spin rate, launch direction, spin axis, height, curve, landing angle, carry, side, total, side total. Club: club speed, attack angle, dynamic loft, club path, face angle, face to path, spin loft, swing plane, swing direction, low point, impact height, impact offset, dynamic lie, low point side/height, swing radius, D-plane tilt. A 2017 forum tester notes that indoors with limited ball flight, spin can be calculated rather than measured unless metallic stickers are used; calculated values show in italics. Official measured/calculated split not published.

Software and compatibility

Native apps: Trackman Golf Simulator software / Performance Studio (PC), Trackman Golf mobile app. Runs on PC (Windows 11, high-end GPU), iOS/iPad app.

Simulator softwareWorks?Notes
GSProNoNo source found confirming support; unverified
E6 ConnectNoUnverified

What owners say

Recurring points from owner forums, verified-buyer reviews and retailer Q&A. Each links to where I read it. "Several sources" means at least two independent owners said it.

Praise

Complaints

What published reviews found

These outlets published their own reviews. I summarize their headline verdict; read the full review for their testing details.

  • Golf Insider UK

    When money is not an issue, you will want the TrackMan 4 - most accurate and functional, less suited to mainly-indoor practice.

  • Shop Indoor Golf (retailer)

    Top-tier for those with budget and space; iO may suit tight indoor rooms better.

Where the sources disagree

I show the conflict and which figure I used, rather than quietly picking one.

price

Trackman pages (search snippets) USD 21,495 or 21,995; Shop Indoor Golf $25,995 header vs $25,495 description; Stymie $25,995

I use: $25,995 as current street; Trackman MSRP unverified (Trackman's page did not show a price on fetch; retailer price is live)

subscription

Shop Indoor Golf $1,100/yr; Golf Insider (2024) $1,000/yr

I use: $1,100/yr (More recent retailer listing, matches Trackman iO Complete pricing)

parameter count

Trackman page says 40+ but lists 17 club + 13 ball (=30) plus 25 putting

I use: 17 club / 13 ball / 25 putting (Explicit counts on manufacturer page)

Alternatives to consider

Questions people ask

How much does the Trackman 4 really cost?

$25,995 at the street price I saw on 2026-10-27. Software subscription required (~$1,100/yr) after year one. Trackman publishes no hardware price; $25,995 is a retailer listing. By my math that's about $28,195 over three years and $30,395 over five.

Does the Trackman 4 need a subscription?

Yes. Trackman software subscription (Trackman Golf Simulator software + Trackman Range) ($1,100.00/yr) is required. The first year is included.

Can you use the Trackman 4 outdoors?

Yes, the maker and retailers list it for outdoor use as well as indoors.

How much space does the Trackman 4 need?

It sits about 6 ft behind the ball, and the ball should be at least 10 ft from the screen, so plan for 17 ft of depth.

What I couldn't verify (5)
  • release_year: not found on manufacturer pages within search budget
  • price.msrp_usd: Trackman product page did not render a price
  • third-party simulator support (GSPro/E6)
  • official measured vs calculated breakdown
  • Reddit owner threads not accessible to the research tool
Nouman Sabir

About the author

Nouman SabirFounder & Editor

Nouman Sabir founded Carry & Spin and edits every page. Nouman reads the makers' manuals and plan pages, retailer listings and owner forums, works out what each setup really costs, and keeps every claim linked to its source. Nouman is a researcher, not a golf pro, and says so.

Expert review panel: PGA professionals and launch monitor testers who advise on the technical side of these guides.